Peace for the Day

Devotions for our daily angst.

Prayer Seeds

1 Comment

Prayer Seeds 2    Spring is on the horizon and I’m ecstatic. Bring it on. Last night it stayed light until 6:05 pm. Woo hoo. It’s coming. All over the garden, the tips of fall-planted bulbs brave the cold and push their way out of the hard ground. On the side of the house, where they’re more sheltered, the daffodils even have flower heads forming.

I don’t have to excavate the bulbs or dig around them to see with my eyes what is occurring under the surface. Years of experience has taught me, if the squirrels and chipmunks don’t eat them, the bulbs are doing their thing underground – eating, growing, and getting ready for their grand entrance. Yeah, baby.

My head knows all this. My heart – not so much. When I plant prayers, I pay little attention to what I’ve learned from nature. Nope. I dig those prayers right back up. I can’t let them be. I mess around in the dirt with a little shovel here and a scrape with a trowel there. I’m desperate to see with my eyes what is happening in the spiritual realm where prayers grow.

It’s a fact of life that unearthed bulbs don’t grow and neither do dug up prayers. Oh, that I would learn this lesson and leave my prayer seeds be, at God’s feet, where He can nurture them. One day, they’ll poke their heads above the surface and I’ll see the results or, if not, I will still believe and cling to and trust that He who promised is able.

Spring is on the horizon and I’m ecstatic. Bring it on. Last night it stayed light until 6:05 pm. Woo hoo. It’s coming. All over the garden, the tips of fall-planted bulbs brave the cold and push their way out of the hard ground. On the side of the house, where they’re more sheltered, the daffodils even have flower heads forming.

I don’t have to excavate the bulbs or dig around them to see with my eyes what is occurring under the surface. Years of experience has taught me, if the squirrels and chipmunks don’t eat them, the bulbs are doing their thing underground – eating, growing, and getting ready for their grand entrance. Yeah, baby.

My head knows all this. My heart – not so much. When I plant prayers, I pay little attention to what I’ve learned from nature. Nope. I dig those prayers right back up. I can’t let them be. I mess around in the dirt with a little shovel here and a scrape with a trowel there. I’m desperate to see with my eyes what is happening in the spiritual realm where prayers grow.

It’s a fact of life that unearthed bulbs don’t grow and neither do dug up prayers. Oh, that I would learn this lesson and leave my prayer seeds be, at God’s feet, where He can nurture them. One day, they’ll poke their heads above the surface and I’ll see the results or, if not, I will still believe and cling to and trust that He who promised is able.  Amen – it shall be so.   Prayer Seeds 1

 

 

One thought on “Prayer Seeds

  1. Very good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

