Peace for the Day

Devotions for our daily angst.

Love

1 Comment

 Flag of FranceIn light of the tragedy in Paris, I want to recommit myself to living life on God’s terms, in love. Not sexual love (eros) where I am the center of the universe. Not kindred love (storge). Not brotherly love (phileo) where I do for you and you do for me. But, God’s kind of love. In the Greek, His love is translated agape. It is a selfless, sacrificial, unconditional love, and the highest of the four types of love in the Bible.

In John 13: 34, 35 (The Message) Jesus tells the disciples, “Let me give you a new command: Love (agape) one another. In the same way I loved (agape) you, you love (agape) one another. This is how everyone will recognize that you are my disciples—when they see the love (agape) you have for each other.”

In the same way I loved you –

How did He love me?

For God so loved the world, he gave…

He died so I could live.

Father God – I cry out to You for the hurting, the wounded, the shocked in Paris. If ever we needed You and your love, it’s now. Comfort those who mourn. Bring healing and healers to Paris. Expose those who would continue to harm us. Help me to walk in Your love and to bring Light and Life to this world. I chose to love. In Jesus’ name I do pray. Amen. It shall be so.

One thought on “Love

  1. Perfect Post for the aftermath of the Paris tragedy! Very inspiring!

    Like

Leave a Reply

