Peace for the Day

Devotions for our daily angst.

Lean on Me

Leave a comment

Lean on me when you’re not strong, I’ll be your friend. I’ll help you carry on. (Bill Withers)

What have I to dread, what have I to fear, leaning on the everlasting arms? I have blessed peace with my Lord so near, leaning on the everlasting arms. (E.A. Hoffman)

 Lean on, trust in, and be confident in the Lord with all your heart and mind and do not rely on your own insight or understanding. (Proverbs 3:5 AMP)

KC Leaning

Gramma, Quinn, and KC

It occurred to me during my prayer walk that I need to be m ore like our dog KC.

As a breed, boxers are known to be leaners. They love to be near their humans. KC is part boxer and a big time leaner, all 75 pounds of her. Sometimes, she presses against me so firmly she falls if I move. She pushes in close when she’s happy, scared, or in need of doggie loving. I don’t have to tell her to lean. She just does.

On the couch, she jumps up and places her body so close to mine I’m forced to put my arm around her where, amazingly, my hand falls right on her tummy. There’s no room for it at my side because she’s snuggled in tight under my armpit. She lays her head across my chest, a very happy dog.

In a storm, she comes to me knowing I’ll protect her.

In the quiet, she’s beside me contented in my presence.

It doesn’t matter what is occurring around us. I’m her pack and she stays near me. Even as I write, she’s resting at my feet.

As I walked, I sang Leaning on the Everlasting Arms and pictured my dog. How can I lean into Jesus with the same determination KC presses against me. Like her, not because I have to but because I want to be with Him. To dwell in the secret place, hidden under His wings, safe in His love, my head resting on His chest – now that’s sweet. Leaning, leaning, safe and secure from all alarms. Leaning, leaning, leaning on the everlasting arms.

Leave a Reply

