Peace for the Day

Devotions for our daily angst.

Take Time to Make Time

1 Comment

Moses was shepherding the flock of Jethro, his father-in-law, the priest of Median. He led the flock to the west end of the wilderness and came to the mountain of God. Horeb. The angel of God appeared to him in flames of fire blazing out of the middle of a bush. He looked. The bush was blazing away but it didn’t burn up. Moses said, “What’s going on here? I can’t believe this. Amazing! Why doesn’t the bush burn up?” God saw that he stopped to look. (Exodus 3:1-4 AMP)

Look!  I can’t read this verse without wondering what God would have done if Moses had not stopped to look at the bush. He didn’t glance at it. He observed, examined, and contemplated the fact that the bush before him was burning without being consumed. That’s not something you see every day. If Moses ignored the bush and walked on by, would God have found another leader for Israel? Or would He have taken an even bolder move by knocking Moses over the head to get his attention?

We think we live in the busiest times ever, but even a shepherd has pressure. Moses could have been in a hurry to get home or to move the flock to a more secure location. Maybe he was distracted by hunger or an upset stomach or thinking about a fight with his wife or fretting about his children. There could be a hundred reasons why Moses might have walked right on by that burning bush.

So I ask myself, how many burning bushes have I power walked by too distracted or too busy to notice? I don’t necessarily mean monumental burning bushes where I learn I’m going to rule a nation, but smaller moments when God wanted my attention to show me some little tidbit or to let me know He loves me in a special way. I don’t how many times I’ve passed someone in a store so focused on the shopping goal that I didn’t notice the person trying to say hello. (I’m sorry. I’m not a snob. Really.) My husband will tell you, “Lots!”

Father, I don’t want to miss anything You have for me, not one burning bush. I can be dense and preoccupied. Please help me to see, to really see, the world around me. Amen. It shall be so.

One thought on “Take Time to Make Time

  1. Or wondering “Why am I not hearing from God. Why isn’t he answering me? Send me a sign, God.” We can’t see the burning bush for the desert!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

